I recently started playing PoE with a glasscannon Cipher as main character. (Wood Elf Hunter) I am having a great time playing it (no surprise since BG2/ToB was my all time favorite game), however i am not a fan of the resting mechanism however (something i also disliked in BG1/2). Especially not considering that i need camping equipment, of which i can only have two ( because i am playing on Hard?). Resting does not really make the game harder, just more annoying as you can almost always run back to rest, even after every encounter if you wanted.

Anyway, in PoE i noticed that i tended to avoid using my per-rest abilities/spells. Therefore i was thinking about how to build a party (without using custom companions) that was less reliant on resting, but still had lots of abilities/spells to use during combat.

My first question is whether there are options to heal health without resting? 

My second questions is party structure. I recently recruited Grieving Mother, which made fights much more enjoyable (two Ciphers work *really* well). I also have Kana in my party, which also works ok, even if it takes a while for summons to be available, and i am unsure as to how effective all his chanting actually is :)

Right now my party is:

Eder (fairly boring in combat, but adds some sanity to the group, and is an effective tank)

Durance

Sagani (nice RP fit, and provides an (expendable :) fox to shore up the front lines) 

Grieving Mother

Kana (scary portrait, but otherwise ok)

My primary concern is Durance ( a bit too much crazy in the group for my liking :), he provides his Holy Radiance per encounter effect, but apart from that he is not very effective. I need to use him in the front-line (Eder + Saganis Fox is hard pressed as the only tanks), but he is always getting knocked out :) Can he be replaced by the Paladin companion for example?