Eating food in the presence of enemies

I recently started a new run where I played solo to see how far I would get (not on PotD, I am no pro, just on Hard), so food became a bit more interesting.

I remembered from previous runs that I would - on tough fights - take my food when the enemy was sighted, but before combat started.

Now on this run my character refuses to eat food when enemies are in sight, but I am still hidden. When I move away a little an the enemies disappear into FoW, I can eat. In a previous run I did have this problem sometimes just with Eder.

Does anybody know what the issue may be here?

It is not very important, I am just intrigued.

A related question: are you supposed to be able to eat from a quickslot during combat? That doesn't work for me, but I read several forum postings where people mention doing that.

Another question: I found potions of Iron Skin and Wizard's Double extremely useful in harder fights, and I was so glad to discover that I could make them myself, but now I have run out of ingredients to make them, and I am not aware of any suppliers in Act I. Any hints there?

I probably put too little points in mechanics until now, because I am missing some hidden stash locations. Are there some guides for critical levels of Mechanics?

This belongs in the Pillars 1 forum, I think? This is the forum for the upcoming sequel (Deadfire).

A) Eating in a fight. Hah, would be a funny sub-class (though, Corpse Eater Barb, upcoming, might fit that category). I think the design decision here is immersion. You don't pull out a stew in the middle of a fight, you feed yourself before/after :p

B) Finding ingredients, there are merchants and if you look in the Stronghold window (construction) there might be something that might help you over time ;)

• Like 1

Munching on a sandwich in one hand while fighting with a sword in the other would be awesome.

Sea+Devils+3.JPG

• Like 1