So I am currently building a rogue companion but am stuck between going Ranged gunner (again) as it works very well or going melee rogue this time.  I have no experience with squishy melee in dps.  How would does it work? I am having nightmares of The master below just turning around and breathing on my rogue since he has the lowest deflection.  I understand that's what shadow beyond is for but it breaks as soon as I make an action so the AI will probably just turn right back around to him as soon as he's in melee range.  So I am thinking he only goes in when those big hitters are hard CCed (Paralyze, petrify) but what is he doing the rest of the time If the hard hitter isn't finished?  I guess he should be by then?  I am not going to have a 100% immobilize CC on big bosses like the Master etc

I was thinking of equipping him with a blunder buss/pistol for when he cant be in melee range but to make those effective against high DR I would have to pick up at least penetrating shot, quick switch and maybe gunner and the build starts becoming to thinned out in the talents section not being very good at one particular thing..

PS with Shadow Beyond is Backstab worth it?

Have gun will travel.

Lol.

Rogues using ranged weapons do about 1/4 the DPS as melee rogues, and that's with optimizing deep wounds, poison, etc to the best of their ability.

If you are going to do a rogue, don't waste your time on a ranged weapon.

Rogues actually do better than any other class for single target DPS, if built properly.

Backstab is always a waste of time also, whether or not you use shadowing beyond.

Max his/her deflection, it's his weakest and most important defense.

Duel-weild fast melee weapons.

Use eder or pallegina or both with him using a two-handed weapon or dual-weilding on the front line.

Make liberal use of mother to keep his opponents on phantom foes / mental binding.

Make liberal use of aloth to keep targets slickened / blacksight.