Chance for a Arcanumesque sequel to pillars?

I was thinking the other day about what Tom Sawyer had been saying in alot of interviews about Eternity. How he didn't want it to be stuck in a particular point in time. So i'm thinking wouldn't it be cool if Eternity becomes succesful enough, that a sequel could take place maybe 100-300 years later and have societies that you know and love perish, grand temples and places you fondly remember dacyed and ruined nad your exploits but a mere memory. 

Also i happen to get this on my head because i just started playing Arcanum again ;)

Edited by gamerdude130

It would, indeed, be pretty great, as long as they could tie it into the events of the original. I'm not fond of "sequels" in which there's hardly any connection between the stories except for "this is technically set in the same world."

But, yeah, it'd definitely be nice to see the setting of PoE2 advance time a good bit.

Makes me think of the Mistborn Trilogy. It was mostly "medieval" style weapons and arms and such. And it's pretty much all about people who can manipulate metals (Allomancy), amongst other things. Then, there was a followup book, the setting of which involved earlier firearms. I haven't read it yet, but it's interesting to think about just the impact of the advancement of time on the ability to manipulate metal. :)

• Like 1

Should we not start with some Ipelagos, or at least some Greater Ipelagos, before tackling a named Arch Ipelago? 6_u

I'm not sure how that would work out. PoE will likely have a very different tone from Arcanum (which always seemed to me like a semi-satirical take on fantasy tropes).

I'm also not sure how it would work but i think it's a thought worth pondering.

Edited by gamerdude130