Jump to content

Welcome to Obsidian Forum Community
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Steam update released, game doesn't start anymore


  • Please log in to reply
24 replies to this topic

#1
Morgoth

Morgoth

    Arch-Mage

  • Members
  • 10099 posts
  • Pillars of Eternity Backer
  • Kickstarter Backer
What have you done now Obsidian?

#2
brandysnap

brandysnap

    (3) Conjurer

  • Members
  • 159 posts
was just about to post this myself after some testing to try and get the game working

same for me. doesnt work anymore

all that happens when you click play on steam or try and run the dungeon siege 3.exe is a ms-dos prompt quickly appears on screen, disappears and then nothing.

the executable for dungeon siege 3 doesnt look right. no icon, like a standard dos application from years ago. somethings fubared somewhere.

edit - tried verifying cache. downloaded one file. didnt work. deleted dungeon siege 3.exe, steam redownloaded that file and it still doesnt work. its like the game now thinks its an ms-dos application.
steam verification keeps on saying 1 file failed to validate and downloads something for a split second on my 8megabit connection. but nothings changed.

Edited by brandysnap, 22 June 2011 - 11:59 AM.


#3
serch

serch

    (1) Prestidigitator

  • Members
  • 17 posts
says something like program is to big now. WTF?

#4
Heinrich

Heinrich

    (0) Nub

  • Members
  • 2 posts

says something like program is to big now. WTF?


I just posted a topic about this lol! Who releases an update without proper testing!!??! How retarded can you get?? SIGH @ OBSIDIAN!!!

#5
C2B

C2B

    Lazy Assistant of the Obsidian Order

  • Members
  • 4139 posts
  • Pillars of Eternity Gold Backer
  • Kickstarter Backer

says something like program is to big now. WTF?


I just posted a topic about this lol! Who releases an update without proper testing!!??! How retarded can you get?? SIGH @ OBSIDIAN!!!


I don't really think they noticed it considering they probably don't start the game with steam.

Still they should begin to do it. Both NV and now DSIII have massive problems with Steam.

Edited by C2B, 22 June 2011 - 12:06 PM.


#6
brandysnap

brandysnap

    (3) Conjurer

  • Members
  • 159 posts

says something like program is to big now. WTF?


I just posted a topic about this lol! Who releases an update without proper testing!!??! How retarded can you get?? SIGH @ OBSIDIAN!!!


I don't really think they noticed it considering they probably don't start the game with steam.


you cant start it from the game folder either. i tried double-clicking the dungeon siege 3.exe and it doesnt do anything at all except a quick command prompt window appearing.

#7
serch

serch

    (1) Prestidigitator

  • Members
  • 17 posts
reminds me of old DOS memory management

#8
brandysnap

brandysnap

    (3) Conjurer

  • Members
  • 159 posts

reminds me of old DOS memory management


ill dig out my old floppies with QEMM on them lol

#9
Alvin Nelson

Alvin Nelson

    (5) Thaumaturgist

  • Members
  • 470 posts
  • Location:Cali
  • Xbox Gamertag:Spiffer2021
Hey all,

We're rolling out a fix right now. Sorry for the issues!

#10
brandysnap

brandysnap

    (3) Conjurer

  • Members
  • 159 posts
a dev posted on steam that they are working on it.

*looks around blushing* good. noone saw.

good to see the devs posting here aswell. :unsure:

Edited by brandysnap, 22 June 2011 - 12:20 PM.


#11
AnjyBelle

AnjyBelle

    (3) Conjurer

  • Members
  • 137 posts
  • Location:Bavaria

reminds me of old DOS memory management


ill dig out my old floppies with QEMM on them lol


I had the same idea, dug out the floppies and then... no floppy-disk-drive in my current PC.... :wowey:

But to be serious:
After the failed start some days ago, when we couldn't launch an installation from retail-DVD because the game "is not released yet" now this.
I just wonder, what comes next :unsure:

#12
C2B

C2B

    Lazy Assistant of the Obsidian Order

  • Members
  • 4139 posts
  • Pillars of Eternity Gold Backer
  • Kickstarter Backer

Hey all,

We're rolling out a fix right now. Sorry for the issues!


How about some patch notes too

:unsure:

#13
Morgoth

Morgoth

    Arch-Mage

  • Members
  • 10099 posts
  • Pillars of Eternity Backer
  • Kickstarter Backer
Okay, fix downloaded, now it works again.

Any chance we get a patch log? What has been changed?

#14
RichP

RichP

    (0) Nub

  • Members
  • 1 posts
This worked for me on Win7 x64, YMMV:

Exit Steam

Find the DS3 .exe in Steam\steamapps\common\dungeon siege iii

Note it doesn't have the DS3 icon

Rename the .exe, to say Dungeon Siege IIIOld

Start Steam and wait for it to grab the .exe again

Note that the .exe now has the right icon

Play...

Hope this helps,

Rich

#15
AnjyBelle

AnjyBelle

    (3) Conjurer

  • Members
  • 137 posts
  • Location:Bavaria

This worked for me on Win7 x64, YMMV:

Exit Steam

Find the DS3 .exe in Steam\steamapps\common\dungeon siege iii

Note it doesn't have the DS3 icon

Rename the .exe, to say Dungeon Siege IIIOld

Start Steam and wait for it to grab the .exe again

Note that the .exe now has the right icon

Play...

Hope this helps,

Rich


I can start it normally now, but can't see any changes at all (SP).

#16
Bendu

Bendu

    (7) Enchanter

  • Members
  • 937 posts
  • Location:Germany
  • Steam:BenduHead
  • Pillars of Eternity Gold Backer
  • Kickstarter Backer
  • Deadfire Silver Backer
  • Fig Backer
  • Black Isle Bastard!
Hmm... my copy has not been patched yet. Is this update no more available?

#17
brandysnap

brandysnap

    (3) Conjurer

  • Members
  • 159 posts

Hmm... my copy has not been patched yet. Is this update no more available?


try restarting steam and see if the patch downloads then

if that doesnt work then verify the game integrity in the steam menu

Edited by brandysnap, 22 June 2011 - 01:33 PM.


#18
Bendu

Bendu

    (7) Enchanter

  • Members
  • 937 posts
  • Location:Germany
  • Steam:BenduHead
  • Pillars of Eternity Gold Backer
  • Kickstarter Backer
  • Deadfire Silver Backer
  • Fig Backer
  • Black Isle Bastard!
I already did that. No patch. :)

#19
LadyCrimson

LadyCrimson

    Obsidian VIP

  • Members
  • 8693 posts
  • Location:Candyland
  • Pillars of Eternity Gold Backer
  • Kickstarter Backer
Why I like to play in offline mode... :)

Anyone know what this is supposed to do? Can you remap the keys yet? :p

#20
Bendu

Bendu

    (7) Enchanter

  • Members
  • 937 posts
  • Location:Germany
  • Steam:BenduHead
  • Pillars of Eternity Gold Backer
  • Kickstarter Backer
  • Deadfire Silver Backer
  • Fig Backer
  • Black Isle Bastard!
A new update again?




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users